Transformations and Symmetry


The first half of Chapter Ten introduces the four isometries, which preserve both shape and size; dilations, which preserve shape, are introduced later. These are all discussed in a variety of contexts. Various types of symmetry are described in both two and three dimensions. Tessellations are classified and described as well.

What you can expect to learn

After completing these activities you should be able to

  1. Define a transformation.
  2. Define and perform reflections, translations, and rotations.
  3. Define isometries and recognize transformations that are isometries.
  4. State six preserved characteristics of isometries.
  5. Define and perform glide reflections.
  6. Define line, rotational, and point symmetry.
  7. Identify lines of symmetry and angles of rotational symmetry.
  8. Define and perform dilations.
  9. Define and create tessellations.
  10. Use transformations to describe natural phenomena and investigate solutions to practical problems.
Activity List